Skip to main content

Home: About the Collection

Old Town High School Library

The Collection

THE COLLECTION

The Old Town High School Library has a collection of over 16,000 books available for students and staff research and recreational reading. We also have audiobooks on CD, DVD's and an extensive collection of graphic novels and manga.  Search our collection using the online catalog.

 

MAGAZINES

  • American Rifleman
  • Booklist
  • Discover
  • Down East
  • E: Environmental Magazine
  • Entertainment Weekly
  • Field & Stream
  • Health
  • Library Media Connection
  • Motor Trend
  • National Geographic
  • Outdoor Life
  • People
  • Popular Science
  • Road & Track
  • Rolling Stone
  • School Library Journal
  • Seventeen
  • Smithsonian
  • Sports Illustrated
  • Teen Vogue
  • Time
  • Voice of Youth Advocates

KINDLES

The library has 18 Kindles available for students and staff to borrow. Kindles may be borrowed for 3 weeks and may be renewed if they are not reserved. We have 3 collections of Kindles, Realistic and Sports Fiction, Dystopican and Fantasy, and Non-Fiction and Biographies.

Our Virtual Library

OUR VIRTUAL LIBRARY

E-Books & Audiobooks

The library has a growing collection of e-books and audiobooks that you can download to your computer or tablet. Instructions on how to access our collection with links to the apps for your tablets are available *here*

 

 

Databases

The Old Town High School Library has subscriptions to a number of databases to help you with your projects and research. The following is a listing our subscriptions as well as a description of the database. All the databases can be accessed within the district network without a username or password. Please stop by the library to get the username and password to access them at home.

Classroom Video on Demand provides thousands of educational videos that can be streamed on-demand from anywhere.

 

InfoTrac is a full-text online database that features access to a wide variety of subjects and content from academic journals and general magazines.

 

Science in Context supports high school curriculum and features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects, from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.

SIRS Researcher delivers the content, context and connections for research and analysis of the leading issues surrounding the most debated world topics. SIRS Issues Researcher helps students make sense of the world by offering relevant, credible resources that tell the whole story on the major issues and world conflicts of the day.

U.S. History in Context provides comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today and provides an overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information.

World Geography & Culture Online is a comprehensive reference site makes it easy to study all aspects of a country, with facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more. In addition, comprehensive entries about the U.S. states are also available.

World History in Context provides comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today and provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information.